Recent Psychology Department Highlights

Faculty accomplishments

  • SSHRC Insight Grant Winner, Dr. Justin Friesen (PI) and Dr. Danielle Gaucher (co-I), System Justification and Immigration
  • SSHRC Insight Grant Winner, Dr. Jeremy Frimer (PI), Civility and the Reduction of Social Biases
  • SSHRC Insight Grant Winner, Dr. Amy Desroches (co-I), Understanding Justice
  • Dr. Steve Smith received the 2018 Arts Excellence Teaching Award
  • Dr. Beverley Fehr received the 2018 Erica and Arnold Rogers Award for Excellence in Research and Scholarship
  • Dr. Wendy Josephson is now a Senior Scholar in the Psychology Department
  • Dr. Harinder Aujla, Dr. Beverley Fehr, and Dr. Steve Smith for their contributions to organizing the successful 2017 Prairie Undergraduate Research Conference, along with the coordinating efforts of Psychology staff members, Carolynn Smallwood and Karen Barkhouse, and PSA volunteers

Alumni and Student Accomplishments

  • Alyssia Wilson: Honourable Mention for her poster, Neural Responses to Consciously and Unconsciously Perceived Emotional Faces: A Spinal fMRI Study (supervisor, Dr. Steve Smith, Psychology) in the 13th annual Randy Kobes Undergraduate Research Symposium. (Alyssia also won the 2018 Ron Norton Prize for best Honours thesis.)
  • Alesha Frederickson, Deena Robak, and Alyssia Wilson: CPA 2018 Honours Thesis winners for UWinnipeg’s Psychology Department
  • Nicole Stoyko: winner of the Council of Canadian Departments of Psychology Award for Undergraduate Teaching Assistants of the Year
  • Dr. Dom Di Curzio (alumni and instructor) received his PhD in 2017 and is now a post-doctoral fellow in UWinnipeg’s Biology Department with Dr. Renee Douville
  • Dr. Aynslie Hinds (alumna and instructor) received her PhD (U of M) in 2018 and is now a post-doctoral fellow at the Institute of Urban Studies, UWinnipeg. Moreover, she has been appointed as a UWinnipeg Adjunct Professor
  • Dr. Erin Buckels (alumna) received her PhD (UBC) in the summer of 2018, and is now a Post-doctoral fellow at St. Boniface Hospital, working with Dr. Mike McIntyre (UWinnipeg Dean and Professor Emeritus in Psychology)
  • Dr. Jacy Young (alumna and former UWinnipeg Psychology instructor) was hired as a tenure-track Psychology professor at Quest University in Squamish, BC